Guitariste :: Compositeur :: Arrangeur

Pascal Bournet
 1-Carolan's welcome 2-Carolan's ramble to Cashel 3-Hewlett 4-O'Flinn 5-James Bethag 6-Betagh's Jig vidéo 7-Lady saint John 8-Lord Inchiquin 9-Mrs Crofton 10-Henry Mac dermott Roe 11-Bumper Squire Jones 12-Hugh O'Donnell

Acheter:  Productions d'Oz  DZ2183             Video

Compositeur : O'CAROLAN, Turlough (arr. Bournet, Pascal)
DZ 2183
ISBN : 978-2-89737-100-5 
2 guitares

This new publication contains just twelve of O'Carolan's harp pieces; Pascal Bournet has chosen well here and has not gone for the usual suspects presenting instead some perhaps lesserknown compositions. The programme veers more towards the up-tempo side of things and is, in general, full of highly melodic material. Over the years I've had the misfortune of having to play through and listen to, many poor adaptations of the great man's music; fortunately, this present book is not in that category and there are several from this collection which could easily fit together to form an interesting and entertaining small suite. Good as these arrangements are, it has to be said that O'Carolan's music always sounds much better on the instrument for it was written, but for the duo of around the Intermediate standard, there is plenty of fun to be had within these pages. The title of this book is taken from the epitaph on O'Carolan's tombstone."       Steve Marsh